Skip to content ↓
Wessex Gardens Primary & Nursery School

Wessex Gardens Primary & Nursery School


School Governing Body

The Governing Body are the strategic leaders of our school and have a vital role to play in making sure that every child gets the best possible education. The Governing Body has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

In doing so, the Governing Body undertake the following key activities:

  • Understand our school
  • Set our school’s strategic direction
  • Commission action
  • Performance manage our school leaders
  • Check if we are fit for purpose

The Governing Body reconstituted in 2016 and there are now fourteen voting governors and two non voting associate governors:

  • Two staff governors comprising the headteacher and one governor elected by the staff.
  • Two parent governors elected by the parents.
  • One local authority governor proposed by the local authority and appointed by the Governing Body.
  • Nine co-opted governors who are appointed by the other governors based on their experience and contribution
  • Two associate (non voting) governors
Wessex Gardens Primary School Governing Body
LA GOVERNOR                         Re - elect date                                       Business Interest/s
Mrs Jill Summers                        28/November/2020                                   None

STAFF GOVERNORS                         
Mr Alexander Banks
Ms Ruth Charteris                       24/March/2023                                           None
CO-OPTED GOVERNORS                     
Mr Franklin Dannenberg          10/July/2020                                               None
Vice Chaiman

Ms Jasy Loyal                                 25/November 2023                                None            
Dr V Gearson                                 28/November/2020                                None
Ms Helen Ruthven                       31/August/2023                                        None
Dr Hadassah Ryde                      28/November/2020                                None
Child Protection and Safeguarding

Ms Sue Kayser                                28/November/2020                               None
Dr Hadassah Ryde                        28/November/2020                               None
Jacqui Zinkin                                  15/July/2023                                             None

1 x vacancy

PARENT GOVERNORS                             
Ms Dariya Glazer                          22/November/2020                                 None
Mr Charles Dumenya                  13/November/2021                                  None

Ms Valerie Crosdale                     10/July/2020                                               None                Gorana Henry                               16/July/2022                                                None

Saru Balakrishnan
Governance Services
Haringey Council
River Park House, 3rd Floor
London N22 8HQ
Telephone:     020 8489 5030

The formal business of the governors, such as approving budgets and agreeing polices, takes place at its termly full Governing Body meeting, but most of the work of the governing body is done through day-to-day interaction with the school, and in its four committees.

  • the Wellbeing and Community Committee focuses on the areas of safeguarding and pastoral care of the children.
  • the Standards and Attainment Committee oversees the teaching and learning within the school, monitoring the levels of attainment and achievement by the children.
  • the Finance and Premises Committee ensures that the school's funds are being properly used, and that the building and grounds are attractive and well maintained.
  • the Staffing Committee oversees the staff structure and performance


Name of Governor 26/11/2018 26/03/2019 16/07/2019 26/11/2019 24/03/2020 14/07/2020
Jill Summers Present Present Present      
Mumin Humayaun Present Apologies Apologies      
Alexander Banks Present Present Present      
Ruth Charteris Present Present Present      
Helen Ruthven Apologies Present Present      
Franklin Dannenberg Apologies Apologies Present      
Sue Kayser Present Present Apologies      
Hadassah Ryde Present Present Apologies      
Vanessa Gearson Present Apologies Present      
Ken Solomons Present Present Present      
Dariya Glazer Present Apologies Present      
Charles Dumenya Present Apologies Present      
Valerie Crosdale Present Present Present      
Gorana Henry Apologies Present Present      
Jacqui Zinkin N/A N/A Present